Cheapest Board Portal Software in 2026: Costs for 10 Members
Of the board portals with public prices, BoardPro is cheapest: $1,650 a year for 10 directors. Boardable costs $2,518.80 for 10 users. Prices read October 10, 2026.

For a 10-member board billed yearly, BoardPro's Essentials plan is the cheapest published price among the five board portal vendors we read on October 10, 2026: $1,650 a year for the whole board, with unlimited users. That plan leaves out electronic voting, which starts on BoardPro Premium at $2,750 a year. Boardable is the only other vendor that publishes a price, at $2,518.80 a year for 10 users on its entry plan. OnBoard, BoardEffect and Diligent quote on request, so they cannot be ranked on cost.
Our price check: of the five board portal vendors whose pricing pages we read on October 10, 2026, two publish a price (BoardPro and Boardable) and three ask for a quote. The two that publish bill in different units, so the cheapest name depends on how many people sit on your board. This is our data, read from those five pages. The arithmetic below multiplies the published rates. It is not a vendor quote.
At a glance: 10 members, billed yearly
| Vendor and plan | Published list price | Billed per | Cost for 10 members a year | Left out or added on top |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BoardPro Essentials | $165 a month, or $1,650 a year | Board | $1,650 | No voting or e-signatures; subcommittees extra |
| BoardPro Premium | $275 a month, or $2,750 a year | Board | $2,750 | Subcommittees extra |
| BoardPro Ultimate | $440 a month, or $4,400 a year | Board | $4,400 | Subcommittees extra |
| Boardable Essentials | From $20.99 a user a month, billed annually at $251.88 a user | User | $2,518.80 | Video is an optional add-on with no price |
| Boardable Professional | From $29.99 a user a month, billed annually at $359.88 a user | User | $3,598.80 | Video is an optional add-on with no price |
| Boardable Professional+ | From $35.99 a user a month, billed annually at $431.88 a user | User | $4,318.80 | Video included at no added cost |
| OnBoard (Essentials, Premium, Ultimate) | No price on its pricing page | Not stated | Not ranked | Quote after a demo |
| BoardEffect (Pro, Plus) | No price on its pricing page | Not stated | Not ranked | Custom quote |
| Diligent Boards | No price on its pricing page | Not stated | Not ranked | Request-a-demo form |
Two things in this table decide the answer. Boardable charges per person, so its cost rises with every director. BoardPro charges per board, so the board price applies once, whatever the head count. For Boardable, the 10-member column multiplies the per-user annual figure by ten. For BoardPro, it is the board price as published.
Per board or per user: the break-even sits at seven
BoardPro's Essentials works out to $165 a director at 10 members and $82.50 a director at 20. Boardable's Essentials costs $251.88 for each user a year at its starting rate, which is $20.99 times 12. At 10 users that comes to $2,518.80. The gap to BoardPro is $868.80 a year, about a third of Boardable's bill.
The ranking flips on a smaller board, and that matters more than the headline. At Boardable's starting rate, six users cost $1,511.28 a year on Essentials, which is below the BoardPro Essentials price. Seven users cost $1,763.16, which is above it. At list rates, then, Boardable is the cheaper choice for a board of six or fewer, and BoardPro is cheaper from seven directors upward.
Boardable says its per-user rate falls as you add users. That pushes its real break-even above the list-rate math, though its page does not say by how much. Ask for the volume price before you decide on a board near the seven-director line.
What the cheapest plan leaves out
The distance between the cheapest plan and the one a board actually votes on is where the real cost sits. BoardPro's Essentials plan includes agendas, board packs, minutes, actions, a decision register, an interest register, a governance repository, multi-factor authentication and chat support. Voting, board pack annotations, minutes signing, electronic signatures, between-meeting reports, flying minutes and BoardPro AI start on Premium. A board that votes electronically therefore pays $1,100 more a year on Premium than on Essentials. That $1,100 is the price of the vote.
Subcommittees are the second cost the headline hides. BoardPro bills each subcommittee separately at US$825 a year on annual billing, or US$82.50 a month. Two subcommittees bring the Essentials bill to $3,300 a year, double the headline price. A board with active committees should add them to the quote before comparing anything.
Billing term matters as well. BoardPro lets you pay monthly or annually on its commercial plans. Monthly Essentials comes to $1,980 a year, which is $330 more than paying annually. Boardable bills annually only. Its page says you are invoiced once per year for the full term, so the whole bill arrives in one payment. It also says credit card payments carry no processing fee, and it accepts ACH or wire transfer.
Video is the gap in Boardable's headline price. Boardable Video is an optional add-on on Essentials and Professional, and the page gives no price for it. On Professional+, video comes at no added cost, and that plan costs $4,318.80 for 10 users. Measured against Essentials, Professional+ becomes the cheaper route to video once the add-on costs more than $1,800 a year for 10 users. Measured against Professional, which also takes the add-on, the threshold is much lower. Professional+ also adds an agenda approval workflow and AI meeting minutes over Professional, so compare the feature lists before you compare the dollars.
What to ask for in writing
A board portal quote is only comparable when every vendor answers the same questions. Ask each one for the following, in writing, for your exact head count:
- Whether the price is per board or per user, and whether users are unlimited on the plan you are quoting.
- The price of each subcommittee, and of any video add-on, since neither should be a surprise on the renewal invoice.
- Which features the quoted plan includes. Voting and e-signatures are the ones to check first, because BoardPro puts both on Premium.
- The billing term and the renewal rate. Boardable invoices once a year for the full term, so a rise at renewal arrives as a full-year bill.
- Whether volume discounts apply at your head count. Boardable's rate depends on it, and its page does not give the schedule.
These questions matter more than the list price in a board context. A board pays for the portal every year, and electronic voting, which many boards need, sits on BoardPro's Premium plan rather than the entry plan.
Three vendors left out of the ranking
OnBoard lists three plans, Essentials, Premium and Ultimate. Its pricing page says the cost depends on "the plan tier and number of users," and it tells visitors to request a demo for an accurate quote. BoardEffect lists Pro and Plus plans and offers a custom quote, with no dollar figure on the page. Diligent's pricing page lists Diligent Boards among its governance products, with a request-a-demo form and no price.
We left these three out of the cost ranking. We did not fill the gap with third-party estimates, because a ranking that mixes quotes with list prices misleads the reader. Nasdaq Boardvantage and other board portals are not in this ranking either, because we have no verified published price for them as of October 10, 2026. If one of them is on your shortlist, get the written quote described above before you compare it with the rows in the table.
Toolradar, the software directory we run, has tool pages for Boardable, OnBoard and BoardEffect if you want the directory view.
Nonprofit and free options
BoardPro offers up to 40% off for nonprofits and schools, on annual plans only. Boardable says its pricing is already tailored for nonprofits, so it offers no further discount, although it does offer volume discounts for larger teams. A company board should work from the list rates in the table and ask about volume terms, rather than assume a nonprofit rate applies.
No board portal in this set is free. BoardPro and Boardable both offer free trials instead. Boardable's trial runs 14 days and gives full access to its Professional features, so you can load a board pack and run a meeting before you pay. A shared folder is free inside a suite you already pay for. It stores files, but it has no agenda, voting or minutes, which are the features this page prices, so we do not rank it as a board portal.
Which pick fits a 10-member board
- Minutes and packs, no electronic votes: BoardPro Essentials, billed annually.
- Electronic votes or e-signatures: BoardPro Premium, billed annually.
- Six members or fewer, no video: Boardable Essentials at list rates, $1,511.28 a year at six users.
- Video in the boardroom: get Boardable's add-on price in writing, or budget Professional+ at $4,318.80 a year for 10 users.
- A board of 20 or more: BoardPro's per-board price keeps the cost per director falling as the board grows, to $82.50 on Essentials at 20 members.
Nobody should buy on the sticker alone. Check three things before you check the price: how the board votes, how many subcommittees it runs and whether it needs video. Each subcommittee adds $825 a year on BoardPro, and two of them lift BoardPro Essentials above Boardable's 10-user price.
How we priced this
We read five pricing pages on October 10, 2026: BoardPro, Boardable, OnBoard, BoardEffect and Diligent. Every price in the table was verified on those vendor pages on October 10, 2026. BoardPro states its prices in USD. Boardable shows dollar signs without a currency code, and we read them as US dollars. The 10-member scenario is one board of 10 directors, with no subcommittees, billed annually, at Boardable's starting per-user rate, which its page says falls with volume. Neither BoardPro nor Boardable lists a setup fee, although Boardable mentions Getting Started packages without a price. The totals therefore exclude setup, taxes and the Boardable video add-on, which has no published price. Our arithmetic multiplies published rates and is not a quote from either vendor. Re-check the two pricing pages before you sign, because list prices change. This page is general information, not personalized financial advice.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest board portal software in 2026?
For a 10-member board billed yearly, BoardPro Essentials is the lowest published price we read on October 10, 2026: $1,650 a year per board, with unlimited users. It omits electronic voting, which starts on Premium. Boardable is cheaper per person only for boards of six or fewer.
How much does board portal software cost for 10 members?
At list rates, BoardPro costs $1,650 a year on Essentials, $2,750 on Premium and $4,400 on Ultimate. Boardable costs $2,518.80 a year for 10 users on Essentials, $3,598.80 on Professional and $4,318.80 on Professional+. Subcommittees and any video add-on sit on top. OnBoard, BoardEffect and Diligent publish no price, so their 10-member cost needs a written quote.
How much does Diligent Boards cost?
Diligent publishes no price for Diligent Boards. Its pricing page lists Diligent Boards among its governance products and sends buyers to a request-a-demo form, with no dollar figure on the page as read on October 10, 2026. Ask for a written quote per board and per user, and check whether it includes voting, subcommittees and video.
Is there a free board portal?
Not among the vendors we read. BoardPro and Boardable both offer free trials instead, and Boardable's runs 14 days with full access to its Professional features. A shared folder is free only inside a suite you already pay for, and it has no agenda, voting or minutes.
Does BoardPro charge per user or per board?
Per board. Every BoardPro commercial plan includes unlimited users, so a 10-member board and a 20-member board pay the same on the same plan. Subcommittees are the exception, billed separately at US$825 a year each on annual billing.
Is Boardable cheaper than BoardPro?
Only for small boards at list rates. Six Boardable Essentials users cost $1,511.28 a year, below BoardPro Essentials. Seven users cost $1,763.16, above it. Boardable's per-user rate falls as users are added, and its page does not say by how much, so ask for its volume price before you choose.
More cost pages on this site
- Ramp Pricing 2026: Free vs Plus, Bill Pay Fees and Real Costs
- NetSuite Pricing in 2026: License, Users, Modules, and Hidden Fees
- BILL (Bill.com) Pricing 2026: Every Plan, Real Costs and Hidden Fees
- Brex Pricing 2026: Essentials $0, Premium $12 and the Capital One Deal
- How Much Does a 409A Valuation Cost in 2026? Vendor Prices Compared
For the reporting side of board prep, AI for CFOs covers which drafting work AI can take on, and Best AI Financial Reporting Tools covers the tools that produce the numbers the board reads.
Cite this: CFOpresso, "Cheapest Board Portal Software in 2026: Costs for 10 Members", October 2026.
Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.
More CFOpresso reviews
Buyer guides and software reviews, with prices read from each vendor's own pricing page.
Browse all reviews